Lewis Hamilton, Ronaldo (Overseas) Bag BBC Sports Personality Of The Year 2014

The 29-year-old, Lewis Hamilton who won his second Formula 1 world title this season joined an exclusive club by becoming the fourth Briton to win the drivers’ championship at least twice.

lewis hamilton 360nobs.jpg 5lewis hamilton 360nobs.jpg 5

The Mercedes driver won 209,920 of the 620,932 votes cast, with Northern Irish golfer McIlroy getting 123,745 (20%) as runner-up and athlete Jo Pavey 99,913 (16%) third.

“I was sitting there saying Rory’s going to have it,” said Hamilton, who earned 34% of the vote. “I thought it had to be someone else.”
“I want to say a huge thank you to all the people who called in, I really wasn’t expecting it,” he added.

“I am so speechless. I’m so proud and honoured to be among such great sporting talent.”

Hamilton was runner-up to boxer Joe Calzaghe in 2007 and Sir Chris Hoy the following year.

Meanwhile, Real Madrid and Portugal forward Cristiano Ronaldo wins the BBC’s 2014 Overseas Sports Personality award. The 29-year-old former Manchester United star was named world player of the year 11 months ago.

READ ALSO:   Ghana to export cassava chips to China

ronaldo 360nobs.jpg 4ronaldo 360nobs.jpg 4

Ronaldo has scored 32 goals in 23 games this season, and 281 goals in 267 matches for Real Madrid, including 27 hat-tricks.

The other winners were:

• Young Sports Personality of the Year: Claudia Fragapane. The 17-year-old gymnast became the first British woman in 84 years to win four gold medals at one Commonwealth Games.
• Lifetime Achievement Award: Six-time Olympic gold medal-winner Sir Chris Hoy was honoured in his home country.
• Helen Rollason Award: The Invictus Games competitors were presented with the trophy by Prince Harry.
• Sport’s Unsung Hero: Jill Stidever won the award after spending nearly 60 years teaching thousands of children with special needs to swim.

Last 10 winners

2013: Andy Murray (tennis)         2012: Sir Bradley Wiggins (cycling)
2011: Mark Cavendish (cycling)  2010: AP McCoy (horse racing)
2009: Ryan Giggs (football)          2008: Sir Chris Hoy (cycling)
2007: Joe Calzaghe (boxing)        2006: Zara Phillips (equestrian)
2005: Andrew Flintoff (cricket)  2004: Dame Kelly Holmes (athletics)

READ ALSO:   Father kills11-month old son after row with girlfriend

DatboyjerryDatboyjerryDatboyjerry About Datboyjerry
I am but your herald Boy in the art of the pen… will be inundating you with up-to date news on the ongoing malfeasance in the Nigeria multifaceted sectors, sports, celebrity gossips, event ensembles and so on. Stay Tuned..

Skype  • Facebook  • Twitter • Linkedin • Google • Instagram •