NPP sets May 24 for parliamentary primaries

The National Executive Committee of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has approved a roadmap for the organisation of the party’s Parliamentary Primary Elections.

At its meeting on Monday, April 23, 2015, the NPP NEC set the following timelines for the primaries:

Opening of Nomination  – March 30, 2015

Closing  of Nomination  – April 10, 2015

Vetting of Aspirants  – April 13 to 17, 2015

Announcement of vetting results – April 20, 2015

Appeals at Regional level, if any – April 20 to 24, 2015

Appeals at National level, if any – April 24 to 30, 2015

Notice of poll – April 24,  2015

Election Day – May 24, 2015.

A statement signed by party General Secretary, Kwabena Agyepong,  said the party has also approved the following as both filing and development fees for the Parliamentary aspirants:

Each Parliamentary aspirant in Orphan Constituencies  – Filing fee = GHC10.000.00;

Each Sitting Member of Parliament seeking re-election –  Filing fee = GHC10.000.00;

READ ALSO:   Ghana Anti-Corruption Coalition trains new accountability officers

Each Parliamentary aspirant in constituencies with sitting NPP Member of Parliament  – Filing fee GHC10.000.00 + Development fee GHC20.000.00.

Meanwhile, the NEC has resolved to give a 50% rebate on both filing and development fees to women and persons with disability.

The National Executive Committee on Monday also tasked the General-Secretary to consult with the regional party executives to vary election dates when the need arises.

The NEC meeting further adopted a proposal for only female aspirants to contest the seats of the existing 16 female NPP Members of Parliament.

“Similarly the following coastal constituencies in the Greater Accra Region should be contested by Ga indigenes except in exceptional circumstances: Ngleshie Amanfrom, Ablekuma South, Odododiodio, Korle Klottey, La Dade Kotopon, Ledzokuku, Krowo,r Tema East, Tema West, Kpone Katamanso, Amasaman, Obom and Domeabra”, said the release.

The National Executive committee also confirmed the appointment of Mr. Eddie Tettey as the substantive Director of Finance and Administration.

READ ALSO:   Wonder Girls star Ahn So-hee and Kim Hee-chul will reunite on Ask Us Anything