16 MDCEs in Volta Region sworn in

A total of 16 Municipal and District Chief Executives (MDCEs), who were approved by their respective assemblies in the Volta Region, have assumed office after a short swearing-in ceremony in Ho.
Dr Archibald Yao Letsa, Volta Regional Minister, said the President required competent and proactive people to take charge of the various Assemblies and advised them to live up to expectation and implement government’s developmental and transformational programmes.
“As the chief representative of the central government in the municipalities and districts, you must be adequately aware of the policies, programs and developmental agendas of the government and be fully prepared to successfully implement those that relate to or are relevant for local governance”, he said.
Dr Letsa asked them to conform to established laws and regulations in making “prompt decisions” towards the development of their municipalities and districts and also reminded them to be conversant with the Local Governance, Public Financial Management, and the Public Financial Management Acts among others.
Mr Maxwell Blagogee, Deputy Regional Minister, condemned what he called “perceived in-fighting” among nominees and members of the assemblies and said most rejections were due to the “complacency and the attitudes” of the nominees.
He asked the MDCEs to work hard to justify their endorsements, win the trust of stakeholders and to serve the Assemblies with dignity.
Seven Municipal and District Assemblies which included North Tongu, South Tongu, Akatsi South, South Dayi, Adaklu, Hohoe, and Biakoye, rejected President Nana Akufo Addo’s nominees as MDCEs.

Previous articleManagers of sport facilities asked for maintenance manual
Next articleILGS calls for effective collaboration between duty bearers and the private sector