News Sports

6 Top Sports Personalities Contesting For SWAG Chairman of the Year 2017

6 Top Sports Personalities Contesting For SWAG Chairman of the Year 2017

The Sports Writers Association of Ghana has fixed April 28 for the 43rd Awards ceremony in Accra.

The ceremony also coincides with activities of the 50th Anniversary Celebration of SWAG and has six top personalities contesting for the Association Chairman of the Year.

They are Mawuko Afadzinu (Table Tennis), Herbert Mensah (Rugby), Paul Achoe (Volleyball), Charles Osei Asibey (arm wrestling), Evans Yeboah (Badminton Fed) and Frederick Otu Lartey (Taekwondo).

Reports reaching Yours Truly indicate that there are serious lobbying going on by some of the contestants.

While some see it as just as an award other are seeing it as a lifetime achievement that is worth celebrating.

Below is the full list of nominees
1. Footballer of the Year:
Daniel Nii Adjei – (TP Mazembe, DRC)
Thomas Teye Partey- (Atletico Madrid, Spain)
Christian Atsu – (Newcastle, England)
Richard Boakye-Yiadom (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia)
2. Footballer of the Year (LOCAL)
Thomas Abbey (Hearts of Oak)
Amos Frimpong (Kotoko)
Stephen Sarfo (B. Chelsea)
3. Female Footballer of the Year
Priscilla Adubea (Ampem Darkoa Ladies)
Priscilla Okyere (Ampem Darkoa Ladies)
Ruth Appiah (LadyStrikers)
4. Professional Boxer of the Year
Isaac Dogboe
Duke Micah (WBC Int. Bantamweight Champion)
5. National Team of the Year
Local Black Stars
Black Sticks (female Hockey Team)
Golden Arms (Armwrestling)
6. Coach of the Year
Carl Lokko (Coach of Richard Commey
Yussif Abubakar (Aduana)
Carl Pierce (Weightlifting)
7. Association President of the Year
Mawuko Afadzinu (Table Tennis)
Herbert Mensah (Rugby)
Paul Achoe (Volleyball)
Charles Osei Asibey (Armwrestling)
Evans Yeboah (Badminton Fed)
Frederick Otu Lartey (Taekwondo)
8. Most Promising Star of the Year
Richmond Osafo (Weightlifting)
David Abagna (Wa All Stars)
9. Female Club of the Year
Ampem Darkoah Ladies
10. Male Club of the Year
Aduana Stars (GPL)
GRA Male Hockey team
11. Dedication and Valour
George Bankole (Handball)
Ofori Asare (Boxing)
12. Weightlifter of the Year
Christian Amoah
13. Discovery of the Year
David Akwei (Weightlifting)
Isaac Nii Amugi (Armwrestling)
Suzzy Dede Teye (Lady Strikers and Black Maidens)
14. Hockey Player of the Year
Salia Nsalbini
15. Golfer of the Year
Vincent Torgah
16. Badminton Player of the Year
Emmanuel Yaw Donkor
Grace Atipaka
17. Volleyball Player of The Year
Richard Amanor
18. Para-Athlete of the Year
Charles Narh Teye (Power Lifting)
Haruna Tahiru (Armwreslting)
19. Cyclist of the Year
Anthony Boafo Dankwa Boakye
20. Kickboxer of the Year
Alhassan Okine
21. Special Awards
Dr Kojo Benjamin Taylor (Sanford)
Alex Asante (GFA)
Dr K D Asante
Dr Paa Kwesi Ndoum
Dr Martin Engmann