SWAG awards on Saturday

Soccer News of Wednesday, 14 May 2014

Source: Graphic Online

Coach Kwasi Appiah appears favourite for the flagship award of the Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) at this year’s edition of the association’s annual awards night on Saturday at the Banquet Hall in Accra.

The Back Stars coach is in competition with skipper Asamoah Gyan and young female weightlifter, Juliana Arku, for the Sports Personality of the Year. Appiah’s historic feat as the first Ghanaian to qualify Ghana for the mundial puts him in pole position for the award.

Coming on the heels of the conferment of an honourary doctorate degree on him by Day Spring Christian University, the SWAG award is expected to motivate him as he leads the Black Stars to the World Cup.

A night, which is expected to attract the creme de la creme of the Ghanaian sporting fraternity, the Black Stars trio of Asamoah Gyan, Kwadwo Asamoah and Sulley Muntari will also be vying for the Male Footballer of the Year Award.

READ ALSO:   British parliament speaker opposed to Trump addressing Westminster

Other sporting personalities to be awarded include Patrick Allotey (Boxer of the Year), Samuel Anim (Cyclist of the Year), James Kwasi Appiah (Coach of the Year), Ben Nunoo-Mensah (Association Chairman of the Year), Elikem Akaba (Male Hockey Player of the Year) and Elizabeth Opoku (Female Hockey Player of the Year).

The rest are Clifford Aboagye (Discovery of the Year), Ebenezer Assifuah (Most Promising Star), Hasaacas Ladies (Best Female Club), Black Satellites (National Team of the Year), and Juliana Arku (Weightlifter of the Year), Abraham Aryitey (Badminton Player of the Year), Ophelia Swayne (Swimmer of the Year), Derick Abrefa (Male Table Tennis Player of the Year), Linda Annor (Female Table Tennis Player of the Year) and Emmanuel Nartey (Best Judo Fighter).

Special Awards will be presented to Kudjoe Fianoo, Nestor Galley, Shaban Mohammed, GFA President Kwesi Nyantakyi, Kennedy Agyepong of Kenpong Group of Companies and Nuru Bremansu for their contributions towards development of sports in the country.

READ ALSO:   ADDRO gives to health facilities