FIFA World Cup golden boot history and winners 1930-2018

Please before you continue, make sure to click on follow(that one is really important to us. Please) to receive our updates, and make sure to share and like this article if you think is worth it.

The world cup golden award, is given to the top scorer in the world cup tournament. Through it’s 22 years of existence, 28 players have been able to clinch it, 6 of them won it in a single tournament.

Guillermo Stabile won the first ever award in 1930 after leading his team to the final. He scored an average goal of 8 to win the award and became the first player to score in a world cup. Oldric Nejedli from Czech, won it in the next tournament with 5 goals and became the second player to win this award.

Brazil is the nation with the most awards, having 5 players from their squad to win it. The number of times they have won the trophy equals the number of times their players have won the golden boot.(having a good time, make sure to follow this page and also give a thumbs up if you enjoyed it.)

READ ALSO:   2nd Group Of Migrants Being Deported From Greece To Turkey

The most goals to win this award is 13, scored by the former french player Just Fontaine in 1958. This record up till now have not been set again nor broken. The least goal to win the golden boot is 4 goals scored by 6 players in 1962, just after Fontaine set his record for most goals. In the past decade, not more than 10 goals have been scored to win the award.

Harry Edward Kane, is the current award winner. After England was knocked in the semi-finals by Croatia, nobody was able to score more than him, so we won it with his 6 goals. Players like Thomas Muller and James Rodrigues have won the award with less than 7 goals, which is quite poor.

The list below shows winners of the award since it’s arrival to date. Make sure you don’t forget to follow us for our next article and make sure to leave a thumbs up if you think it deserves it, be honest with yourself. Thank you and!!!STAY SAFE.


Content created and supplied by: SportsWeb (via Opera News )


Opera News is a free to use platform and the views and opinions expressed herein are solely those of the author and do not represent, reflect or express the views of Opera News. Any/all written content and images displayed are provided by the blogger/author, appear herein as submitted by the blogger/author and are unedited by Opera News. Opera News does not consent to nor does it condone the posting of any content that violates the rights (including the copyrights) of any third party, nor content that may malign, inter alia, any religion, ethnic group, organization, gender, company, or individual. Opera News furthermore does not condone the use of our platform for the purposes encouraging/endorsing hate speech, violation of human rights and/or utterances of a defamatory nature. If the content contained herein violates any of your rights, including those of copyright, and/or violates any the above mentioned factors, you are requested to immediately notify us using via the following email address operanews-external(at) and/or report the article using the available reporting functionality built into our Platform

READ ALSO:   WAEC disappointed with police over leakage of exam papers