Ensure peace, law, and order in your regions – Akufo Addo to regional ministers

President Akufo-Addo has admonished all the sixteen regional ministers to work hard in maintaining peace, law and order in their respective regions to help foster development.

At the swearing-in ceremony at the Jubilee House on Thursday, March 11, 2021, the president administered the oath of office to the regional ministers.

The oaths of office administered by the president included the Oath of Allegiance, the Oath of Office and the Oath of Secrecy.

He reminded them of the impact their actions and inactions will have on the people in their respective regions and charged them to set the right tone for development in their regions.

“As Chairpersons of the Regional Coordinating Councils of your respective regions, you have the most regular and direct impact on the lives of the people. You set the tone for the administration and development in your regions. Another important role you play is that of the chair of the Regional Security Council. You do not need me to tell you that your most important function is to help ensure peace, law, and order in your regions”.

READ ALSO:   Bukom Banku's Manager Accuses GBA of Conspiracy

“All our plans and programs will come to knot if there is no peace. You must be careful and tactful in managing issues of intelligence and security” President Akufo-Addo charged.

President Akufo-Addo reiterated his position not to appoint deputy regional minister and admonished the regional ministers to prepare for all the responsibilities that come with that office as dictated by the 1992 constitution.

“Article 256 of the Constitution of the Republic, outlines your responsibilities succinctly. You represent the President in the region, and you are responsible for the coordination and direction of the government administrative machinery in the Region. As you all already know, I have taken the decision not to appoint deputy regional ministers, this means you have to shoulder the work by yourselves as I know you can” the president said.

On their behalf, the Volta Regional Minister, Dr Archibald Yao Letsa assured the president and “the good people of Ghana and our regions that we shall take this assignment with seriousness, dedication, commitment, and loyalty that it deserves. Mr President, on behalf of my colleagues, I promise that you can always count on us. We will be your worthy representatives in all the sixteen regions of our beloved nation, Ghana”.

READ ALSO:   EbonyLife announces ‘Fifty: The Series’ with Chris Attoh and more

Full List of the 16 Regional Ministers;
George Boakye – Ahafo Region
Simon Osei-Mensah – Ashanti Region
Justina Owusu-Banahene – Bono Region
Adu Gyan – Bono East Region
Justina Marigold Assan – Central Region
Seth Kwame Acheampong – Eastern Region
Henry Quartey – Greater Accra Region
Shani Alhassan Saibu – Northern Region
Yidana Zakaria – North East Region
Joseph Makubu – Oti Region
Saeed Muhazu Jibril – Savannah Region
Stephen Yakubu – Upper East Region
Dr Hafiz Bin Salih – Upper West Region
Dr Archibald Yao Letsa – Volta Region
Kwabena Okyere Darko Mensah – Western Region
Richard Obeng – Western North Region