Energy And Petroleum Ministry Gets Advisory Board

Mr Emmanuel Armah-Kofi Buah, Minister of Energy and Petroleum, on Wednesday inaugurated a Ministerial Advisory Board (MAD) for the Ministry, with a call on members to give expert advice to help the Ministry achieve set goals.

The Ministry has been without an Advisory Board for the past four years.

Mr Buah and his two deputies, Mr Benjamin Dagadu (Petroleum), and Mr Abdulai Jinapor (Power), are members of the 10-member Board.

The seven other members are: Professor Thomas Akabzaa (Chief Director of the Ministry); Dr Ofosu Ahenkorah (Executive Secretary at the Energy Commission); Mr Moses Asaga (Chief Executive of the National Petroleum Authority); Mr William Hutton Mensah (Managing Director of the Electricity Company); Mr James Asare Adjei (Association of Ghana Industries); Mr Agyeman Duah (Oil Marketing Companies); and Mr Joseph Walker (Electrical Contractors Association).

Mr Buah expressed the Ministry’s appreciation to members for accepting the challenge to serve on the Board, and was optimistic that they would put their expertise at the disposal of the Ministry, to help bring about transparency and efficiency into the Energy sector.

READ ALSO:   ALJAZEERA INTERVIEW: Muhammadu Buhari Interview on Al Jazeera, Buhari blasts Jonathan [Watch VIDEO]

He said with the maximum co-operation of the Board, the Ministry would get Ghanaians on board in energy conservation.

Dr Ahenkorah thanked the Ministry for the confidence reposed in the Board, and pledged members’ determination to live up to expectation.