Kwabena Agyapong condemns Sir John, others

Politics of Monday, 1 September 2014


Kwadwo Sir John Owusu Afriyie

The General Secretary of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Kwabena Agyapong has condemned his predecessor, Kwadwo Owusu Afriyie a.k.a Sir John, for displaying his ballot paper after casting his vote.

The immediate past General Secretary of NPP, Sir John displayed his ballot paper after he voted at the party’s National Headquarters in Accra last Sunday, but Kwabena Agyapong says such a practice should not be encouraged.

“It’s unacceptable. If you’re a party leader, you should respect the party and rules and regulations governing the party,” Kwabena Agyapong said Monday on Adom FM’s “Dwaso Nsem”.

Reports from the Ashanti Region say the party’s National Chairman, Paul Afoko and Ashanti Regional Chairman, Bernard Antwi Boasiako, popularly known as Chairman Wontumi, also displayed their ballot paper to either the cameras or their bodyguards, but Kwabena Agyapong says it is against the party’s constitution.

“I wasn’t around when they showed off the ballot papers into the cameras, but when I went to Kumasi, the media asked me about the issue and when I returned to the party’s headquarters too, they questioned me about same issue, but the party constitution is against such practices” Kwabena Agyapong explained.

READ ALSO:   Ghana National Students Awards open nomination for 2016 event

Kwabena Agyapong says both the current and past executives must uphold the party’s constitution for others to learn from such experienced people in the party.

The opposition party on Sunday held a super delegates conference across the country, where 740 special delegates voted to cut down the number of aspirants from seven to five, ahead of the main contest scheduled for October 18.

Nana Akufo-Addo won 598 votes, representing 80.81%, while Alan Kyerematen polled 59 votes, 2.78%. The others were Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Joe Ghartey (22 votes), former Minister of State, Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku (10 votes), former Information Minister, Stephen Asamoah Boateng (13 votes), MPs Kofi Osei Ameyaw (17 votes) and Francis Addai Nimoh (22 votes).

Two former Ministers- Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku and Stephen Asamoah Boateng- who earned the least votes (10 and 13 respectively), dropped out of the race.

Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Joe Ghartey, despite making it to the top five, on Monday announced on Adom FM he was withdrawing from the race. Member of Parliament for Asuogyaman, Kofi Osei Ameyaw on Sunday told Joy FM he was considering the decision to step down, but would first need to consult his team members.

READ ALSO:   Tonto Dikeh, Ini Edo, Other Celebrities At Moses Inwang's Wedding - Photos

But the General Secretary of NPP, Kwabena Agyapong says although Joe Ghartey has bowed out, the national executives cannot force any aspirants to step down, adding that the party will not replace him for the October 18.